REMINDER: The American Historian is introducing a new section that will highlight various achievements of OAH members. Clio’s Kudos already appears on OAH Insights and in the e-newsletter, but we’re expanding it to include a broader list of achievements. A non-exhaustive list of accomplishments we want to share include:

  • Book publications
  • Article publications
  • Tenure and promotions
  • Teaching awards
  • Professional awards

Job appointments (including visiting professorships, secondary education positions, and adjunct positions)

To have your achievement appear in this section, please email us at [email protected] and include a brief description of your achievement, name, and professional affiliation. While we will try our best to accommodate everyone in a timely fashion, you may have to wait a few issues for your achievement to appear.

W. Caleb McDaniel Wins Pulitzer Prize   

OAH member W. Caleb McDaniel, an associate professor at Rice University, has received the 2020 Pulitzer Prize in history for his work, Sweet Taste of Liberty: A True Story of Slavery and Restitution in America (2019). Sweet Taste of Liberty explores the history of Henrietta Wood, who was born a slave, manumitted and lived in Cincinnati, Ohio, for five years, and then was kidnapped and sold back into slavery. After emancipation, she sued her kidnapper and, eight years later, won her case, which survived appeal. Sweet Taste of Liberty also won the 2020 OAH Avery O. Craven Award.

Keeanga-Yamahtta Taylor Named Pulitzer Prize Finalist 

Keeanga-Yamahtta Taylor, also an OAH member, was nominated as a Pulitzer Prize finalist for Race for Profit: How Banks and the Real Estate Industry Undermined Black Homeownership (2019). Race for Profit reframes the well-known story of segregation in American in the mechanisms to exploit black homeowners and home seekers and further entrench segregation. Taylor’s study also won the 2020 OAH James A. Rawley Prize, the 2020 OAH Ellis W. Hawley Prize, and the 2020 OAH Liberty Legacy Foundation Award. She is an assistant professor in African American studies and the Charles H. Mcilwain University Preceptor at Princeton University.

OAH members recently elected to the Society of American Historians

Congratulations to the following OAH members who were recently elected to the Society of American Historians:

  • Carol Anderson, Emory University
  • Gordon H. Chang, Stanford University
  • Ariela J. Gross, University of Southern California
  • Ira Katznelson, Columbia University
  • Mae M. Ngai, Columbia University
  • Valerie Paley, New York Historical Society
  • Kimberly Phillips-Fein, New York University
  • David Randall Roediger, University of Kansas