The American Historian

Queer History

The May 2019 issue on "Queer History" features an overview on the field of Queer History, an essay on the history of LGBTQ radicalism, an article on the influence of Asian and Pacific Islanders in the making of gay American identity, and an article on the history of trans activism.

OAH members also have the option of purchasing and receiving by mail print copies of The American Historian for $18 a year. To purchase the print option, visit the OAH Member Store and click on Membership Options.

OAH Members Download Now

This issue's cover image is of a pride parade with the LGBTQ+ rainbow flag and the trans* blue, pink, and white flag superimposed with this issue's title


Editor in Chief Stephen D. Andrews

Editor Jonathan D. Warner

Editorial Assistant Aaron G. Fountain Jr.

Design and Layout Ashlee Welz Smith


Nancy Bristow, University of Puget Sound

Geraldo Cadava, Northwestern University

Vicki Eaklor, Alfred University

Katherine M. Finley, OAH (ex officio)

Kim Gilmore, History/A&E Networks

Rachel Gross, University of Montana (ex officio)

Lu Ann Jones, National Park Service

Lisa Kapp, St. Ann’s School

Elisabeth Marsh, OAH (ex officio)

Stephen Robertson, George Mason University

Mark Roehrs, Lincoln Land Community College

Jonathan D. Warner, OAH (ex officio)

Anne Whisnant, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Kidada Williams, Wayne State University

Organization of American Historians


Joanne Meyerowitz, Yale University President

George Sanchez, University of Southern California, President-Elect

Philip J. Deloria, Harvard University, Vice President

Jay S. Goodgold, Independent Investor, Treasurer

Katherine M. Finley, OAH Executive Director

Benjamin H. Irvin, Executive Editor, Journal of American History

Earl Lewis, University of Michigan, Immediate Past-President

Edward L. Ayers, University of Richmond, Past President

Michael Flamm, Ohio Wesleyan University

Jonathan Scott Holloway, Northwestern University

Lu Ann Jones, National Park Service

Martha S. Jones, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

Katherine Ott, Smithsonian’s National Museum of American History

Theresa R. Jach, Houston Community College

Donald Rogers, Central Connecticut State University

Virginia Scharff, University of New Mexico

T.J. Stiles, Independent Scholar


The OAH promotes excellence in the scholarship, teaching, and presentation of American history, encourages wide discussion of historical questions, and advocates for the equitable treatment of all practitioners of history.